b
blackdog
Feb 12, 2013

How to stop Mac applications from resuming after closing them

When I close some applications in OS X, like my browser, when I restart it will revert to the state it was in when I quit the application instead of starting back "blank". How can I make applications quit and not resume their prior state?

jimlynch
02/19/2013
See this article:

Disable Mac OS X Lion Resume & App Window Restore Completely
http://osxdaily.com/2011/07/18/disable-mac-os-x-lion-resume-window-resto...

"If manually deleting specific apps saved Resume states is too tedious for you, you can always choose to just disable the Resume and App Restore feature completely in Mac OS X 10.7.

Launch System Preferences and click on the “General” icon
At the bottom of the “Number of recent items” list, uncheck the checkbox next to “Restore windows when quitting and re-opening apps”
This is a sweeping change that impacts all applications and the Finder itself, meaning all apps will no longer save their previous state, including when you reboot your Mac.

Considering that Resumes is genuinely useful, plus it’s one of the snazzier new features that is heavily boasted about in OS X Lion, this should not be considered a recommended adjustment for everyone."
j
jhotz
02/13/2013

Quit the program using the drop down menu. Hold down the alt key and it will give you the option to "Quit and Close all Windows." Chose that, and it should close the program and start it fresh the next time you open it.

Answer this