Jul 22, 2015

What will happen to all of my photos when Google+ photos is shut down?

Google is shutting down Google+ photos, which is where all of my photos have been going during auto-backup. I assume that they won’t all just disappear, but what will happen to them when Google+ photos is shut down?
Talk about a short turn about, Google+ Photos just launched in May so it only lasted 3 months. In any case, it shouldn't make much difference. No, your photos won't be deleted. Here is what Google has to say on the issue:

"If you’re still using Google+ Photos, now is a great time to make the switch. You may have seen a prompt in Google+ Photos on Android with a link to download the new Google Photos. Don’t worry, all your photos and videos will still be saved and available after you switch to the new, stand-alone Google Photos app. With the new app you’ll still be able to backup, edit, and share your photos and videos, with unlimited storage, automatic organization, and more.

Download the new Google Photos today for uninterrupted access to all your photos, videos and albums. If you don’t update to the new Google Photos, Google+ Photos on Android will soon stop working, but your photos and videos will still remain safely stored and available via http://photos.google.com or for export using Google Takeout.

Get the Google Photos app for Android https://goo.gl/BajWpo
Learn more about these changes: https://support.google.com/plus/answer/6262471 "

Source: https://plus.google.com/+googleplus/posts/d1XubVAZ5hV
Answer this