Jun 25, 2015

What do different RAID levels indicate, and how does a company decide which level is appropriate?

I know that there are different RAID levels (1, 2, 3, etc.), but what is the difference between them? How does a business decide which RAID level is best suited for its needs?
A RAID is basically a redundant array of independent disks. The RAID levels simply indicate that the architecture and arrangement of these disks.

You can find a brief summary about the levels from here:

The company makes a selection according to the specifications, features and functionalities they are require in a defined budget.
Different RAID levels are based on different ways to distribute data across multiple drives to decrease the chance of data loss. Depending on what the company is looking to achieve they can use different RAIDs. There’s always a tradeoff between performance, redundancy and cost. Below are the most common levels. Take a look at the links as they explain what those represent as well as advantages and disadvantages for each level. They also go over situation when you’d want to use one over the other.
Raid 0 – Disk striping, no mirror, and no parity
Data is spread across two discs

Raid 1 – Blocks mirrored, no stripe, and no parity
Both discs contain the identical data

Raid 5 – Block striped, distributed parity
Data is distributed between three disks (at least) with partial redundancy

Raid 10 – Block mirrored, block striped.
A combo of 1+0

Answer this