" You must be logged on as an administrator to perform these steps.
When you delete a hard disk partition or volume (the terms partition and volume are often used interchangeably), you create empty space that you can use to create new partitions.
If your hard disk is currently set up as a single partition, then you can't delete it. You also can't delete the system partition, boot partition, or any partition that contains the virtual memory paging file, because Windows needs this information to start correctly. For more information, see Can I repartition my hard disk?"