J
JOiseau
Apr 18, 2014

How to stop location sharing with Facebook app?

This week Facebook rolled out “Nearby Friends” a new location sharing feature. I don’t need to share with everyone where I am all the time, and I don’t want Facebook to know this either. What do I need to do to disable this feature?

jimlynch
04/23/2014
How to Turn On/Off Facebook Nearby Friends Features on iPhone
http://www.igeeksblog.com/how-to-turn-on-off-facebook-app-nearby-friends...

"Now, I don’t know if Nearby Friends is switched ON by default in the Facebook app but the debates about location-tracking, privacy and all the assorted things about personal preferences are on. Needless to say, you can turn off the feature if you don’t want others to know where you have been or if you prefer not to receive notifications about friends who are nearby."
T
TravisT
04/21/2014

I believe that it is currently opt-in, but you never know when Facebook is going to completely flip on a policy. If you want to make certain, you can go into your smartphone settings and turn off location settings. The unfortunate side effect of this is that while it will stop apps that you don’t want to have access to your location from having it, it will also stop the apps that you want to have access.

Answer this